Enjoy Life, Stay Healthy, Keep Riding

Casual Saturday Rides are back! The ride leaves from the shop on Saturdays at 8:00am!

Ride is two hours and the pace is a casual 13-16mph! The store is open for all your needs at 9am, so feel free to stop in afterwards!

*Please park on the side streets as the business opens while the ride is out*

 

Isabelle Downey

Isabelle Downey

Where do you live, how old are you, and where do you attend school?

I live in Saratoga Springs. I am 10 years old and attend Division Street Elementary School. I will be entering 5th grade this year. I am an only child. My stepdad, Luis Castro, does triathlon, and my mom, April Downey, does them as the swimmer on relay teams.

 

What kind of bike do you ride? What are the features you like about it?

I got a Specialized Grand Dolce road bike in June. I really like how much faster my road bike goes with the skinny tires versus the mountain bike I had before. It is much easier to shift and much lighter. And I love the color, which is a beautiful, iridescent white/violet!

 

How long have you been riding, and how did you get into cycling?

I think I learned to ride a bike when I was 3 or 4. I didn’t really ride much until I started triathlon training when I was 8. I was on a swim team at that time that didn’t practice over the spring and summer and instead I did triathlon training. I did my first triathlon at Sacandaga Lake that summer (2017) and was just happy to complete it! My stepdad and my mom help me train and practice. They are tough, but keep me motivated.

 

How do you typically put the miles on your bike(s)? Do you keep track of your miles? Do you have some favorite routes?

I like to go with my stepdad and my mom for rides. I usually ride around my neighborhood and the Saratoga Spa State Park with my mom. My stepdad takes me to the battlefield in Stillwater to ride. That’s my favorite place to ride because it’s really pretty there, I always see wildlife and it’s really challenging to get up the hills. 

I use my mom’s old Garmin watch to track my rides and speed. I also use it for running and open water swimming.

 

What are your long-term cycling goals?

My goal is to become a professional long-distance triathlete. I really admire Lucy Charles.

 

What are your proudest moments as a cyclist or triathlete?

My first triathlon this year was the Great Sacandaga Lake Challenge. That race was before I got my new road bike and I was riding a mountain bike against road bikes. I only lost by about 40 seconds and finished 2nd overall female to a 13-year old girl. I was really proud of that, and I knew I had to get a road bike then! 

 

What tips would you offer to less experienced riders?

My best tip would be to train, train, train and try to make it fun. Set goals each time you go out.

 

What’s your favorite cycling product/accessory?

My favorite thing about my bike is the pretty purple handlebar tape and matching bottle cage. I named my bike “Luna” because she is such a lovely iridescent white/violet color.

 

Anything else you’d like to share?

I have been a primary swimmer. I am on the Schenectady Saratoga Sharks swim team and compete in both short and long course seasons. I also love open water swimming and like to practice at Moreau State Park with the Saratoga Triathlon Club. I am really looking forward to my next triathlon September 14th, the TOUGHKids NY Championship in Stony Point, N.Y. I will get to race my road bike (Luna) for the first time!